Tafita

My name is Tafita. I am twelve years old.  My right arm does not work and I have trouble moving my right leg.  My mother died when I was very young and I lived with my Dad.  He IMG_0037was a drug addict and drunkard.  He would beat me in his drunken state, so much so, that I could not take it any more.  One day when he beat me again, I just ran away.  My family did not want to take me, so I lived on the streets.  I was seven years old at the time.

During the day I would beg for food, tea and money.  Some people were kind and gave me something.  Others would just chase me away.  I would wonder around all day begging.  At night I would find a shop and ask the shop keeper for a sack or box to sleep on.  Many a night I was very cold. I never took a bath.  I did not have any friends.  I was alone.

I lived on the streets for five years.  One day I became very ill and was throwing up.  The police saw me and brought me to the center.  Mama Caroline took me to the hospital and gave me some snacks.  They said I had a bleeding ulcer.  After the hospital they brought me back here to the center.

I kept going around to the house moms asking for money.  They said not to worry there will always be food.  At first the boys at the center was not very nice to me and I wanted to run away.  Michiel talked to them about love, sowing and reaping.  They all asked forgiveness and I forgave.  Everything changed and now I`m very happy.  I have a lot of friends.

I never went to school and am excited to learn.  It is not easy to remember all the numbers and letters, but it is coming.  Hertina is a very patient teacher and is helping me a lot.  Today I had to go to court and the judge said I could stay at the center.

I am not good at many things because my right leg and arm does not work very well, but I love music.  This Saturday I was sitting on the porch tapping my stick on the ground and singing to the beat.  Some of the boys started dancing and helping me with the words.  This makes me very happy.  IMG_0036

Why would I (Michiel) wonder?

With much love,

Your friend.