Only Madagascar

Misha and I, taking our early morning jog,  happened to come upon a peculiar sight – an old dilapidated ox-cart pulled by a scrawny looking cow. Something out of the ordinary drew my attention – ever so often the cow exhibited a burst of energy, windmilling its legs as fast as they will go.  Usually the main source of motivation would be a whip or stick of some kind, but in this case the driver was leaning forward grabbing the buttocks of the cow,  and giving it an almighty squeeze.  How about necessity being the master of invention?  I guess I would be moving a little bit quicker through life if my cheeks were pulsated in similar fashion.

Walking down the street I noticed a man herding a hog with a small leafy stick.  The thought meanders through my mind – what if ?  What if, the pig takes off at lightning speed in that busy street?  It would have the whole village in uproar and hot pursuit in a few seconds.  If I had happened to be in that things hooves,  there would be no way in the world that anybody would ever catch me. I guess that is why God chose to keep me on the human side of life.

Few places in the world will entertain your eyes and intrigue your mind like Madagascar.  A man with a live pig on a pull cart is slowly followed by a brand new BMW SUV.  The pace set by the poor and not the rich.  What a stark contrast and an amazing life lesson.  It is not out of the ordinary to see a hog sawed in half from the rooter to the tooter on a dirty push cart on the way to the market.  With electrical equipment in short supply, one can only imagine how all of that happened. For a few miles, a man carries a dead pig on his shoulders – where does this strength come from?  I can just imagine myself in his situation, knees buckling and lying sprawled out on the cobble-stoned street with a pig neatly draped over me.

Now I am going to tell you something about myself that I am not very proud of.  On my way home one day,  I happened to run into a Malagasy wedding motor brigade heading to a reception.  I was directed to reverse and pull into a tiny spot with my big pick up truck so that the cars could get by.  I patiently waited, ten minutes or so, for the procession to pass.  After they passed,  I made a break for it. Just as I came down this narrow alley, a taxi cab came barrelling around the corner at breakneck speed.  The first thought that jumps into my mind and hijacks me is the fact that I was there first. I have  waited for a long time and there is no way that I am going to back up again.  Here I am with my big truck, with its bull bar ready for action, in a stand off with a small yellow taxi cab.  I could see the eyes through the windshield of the other vehicle widening and the mouth picking up some pace, but I stand my ground. Just as I decide – enough of my nonsense- and put my car into reverse a Malagasy officer orders the cab to back up.  As I pass I see the rage on the cab driver`s face and hear him yelling some choice words my way.  In retrospect I was thinking – where is Christ in that equation?  For a fleeting moment I was victorious but in the end I lost it all – what a total waste !

Janelle had the privilege  to work on the Mercy Ship here in Madagascar for the month of April.  It was such a delight to hear the positive report from her supervisors and co-wokers in the house keeping department.  Truly the crown of a man`s head and a maturing / enriching experience for her.

What can I say ?  My life feels like a spinning ballerina twirling on her toes.  I feel totally out of control until I realise,  much like the ballerina, I have to focus on one point to maintain my balance.  Either focus on Christ or spill the whole sack of beans.

May Christ be your source.

Love you,

Michiel